The plot (weed patch) thickens

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Turn your back for a minute and there are weeds everywhere – its amazing we’ve cleared one patch completely twice (from a starting point of no weeds in march) and its back to looking like a lawn AGAIN.  I was down there today harvesting tomatoes, courgette flowers, chard, sorrell, beetroot, carrots, sweetcorn and marrows (of course).  The courgette flowers topped a top lemon and courgette risotto (recipe from ‘Freshly picked’ by Jojo Tulloh, a woman with a great name and a handy book with recipes from some glutty veg)

Anyway, I realised I’ve not really done much in the way of describing our beloved allotment. Its fairly big (about 300m square) has a greenhouse and shed and is predominantly given over to oversized slightly raised beds.  The soil is heavy clay on the site of an old sewage farm (try not to think too hard about that), so there’s a lot of improving to be done.

There’s still going to be a fair bit going when we wind the plot down for winter I think as we have a lot of chard, some perpetual spinach, parsnips and whole lotta brassicas.  So I’m not quite sure when those beds will get the chance to get a heavy manure mulch, which is needed on an annual basis if we’re to have soil rather than brick making material.    Anyway – some pics are above 🙂

This entry was posted in books, food, Growing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The plot (weed patch) thickens

  1. jjt363 says:

    Reasonably new to having a veg plot (and it’s in France) and my neighbour has just introduced me to green manure seeds and so yesterday I sowed Phalecia which appearently needs to be cut down on flowering & dug in after about 10 days. It should provide winter cover and also supress weeds, have you any experience of it?

  2. Shame on me! I have the seeds, I just didn’t do anything with them as the area I’ve got weeds on is an area I planned to turn into paths and a children’s area. I have heard fab things about the stuff and a neighbour tells me that leaving a few plants to flower makes the bees smile.

    I guess I should plant them. Thanks for the nudge 🙂

    I’d love to know whether there’s stuff that grows there but not here

  3. jjt363 says:

    Hi….I’m actually in Normandy (but hail from Cheadle Hulme, not far from you) so the weather here is pretty similar to yours, just a bit warmer though. I plan next year to be a bit more adventurous with my planting & will let you know if I have any great successess.
    I have a grapevine over the front door, a peach tree with the sweetest white fleshed peaches, small but delicious and also a morello cherry tree which yeilded over 100lbs of fruit this year. Husband fell out of it 2 years ago and broke his back but it hasn’t put him off climbing it, think he likes my jam too much!!!
    I planted a wildflower garden this year and now realise that the pretty purple fluffy looking flowers are phalecia and I had plenty of happy bees buzzing around…not too many butterflies though.

    • Well it must be a smidgin’ warmer then! The allotment site is in Cheadle village – and there are vines there (which amazed me) but all under glass.

      Grapes and peaches sound great – sounds like your jam must be great too if your husband is still heading up despite that scare! We’ve been a bit short on fruit this year – we wanted to make sure that we were going to take to allotmenteering before getting the OK to put some dwarf fruit trees in. So we’re going to move our poor little neglected cherry which has been dry as a bone in a pot this year, we’ve ordered a plum/apricot family tree and now I’m trying to find a nice apple or two. We’re planning to build a fruit cage too, to deal with the squirrels and birds that had ALL of our gooseberries and currants.

      Yeah – do let me know how it goes!

  4. jjt363 says:

    Forgot to mention our 26 apple trees!!!! We’re coming up to harvest time for them, a back breaking experience. Our neighbour takes most of them and turns them in to cider, pommeau (a bit like a sherry) and calvados – a pretty strong apple brandy. He then delivers a few bottles to keep us going through winter!

    Such a pity about your fruits being stolen by the squirrels, we have a family of red ones nearby but they don’t seem to have found our fruit yet!

    • Hang on, let me wipe this drool away from my mouth!
      Sounds to me, with all that fruit, that man and squirrel can live in harmony.
      You must have a fair bit of space there.

Leave a Reply

